Happiness

30 Oct

Have you ever had one of those moments where you get that feeling like something is wrong, but when you try to figure out what it is, you come up with nothing? And then you realize how pretty much everything in your life is really great? And that you’re happier than you’ve been in ages? Well, that just happened to me. Guys, I’m happy. I’m not talking about the happy you get when you are in the middle of doing something really fun. I’m talking about the happiness that comes from a life with fulfillment.

When I left my job to go back to school in August, I was terrified. I questioned whether I had made the right decision to walk away from a job that I’d had for 6 years to pursue my graduate degree. It was such a huge change and it took me a while to adjust. As the weeks progressed I noticed myself feeling less and less stressed. I don’t think I even realized how miserable I had been in my job until I left.

I’m now more than half way through my first semester and things are going great. I’m meeting some amazing people and seem to be excelling in all my classes. It feels wonderful to be doing something that I am passionate about and to have hope for my future. I think at my job I had felt stuck and like there was no real path for me. Now, I see myself as a counselor and I am even starting to look into PhD programs. 

I notice that I don’t find myself searching for something to look forward to anymore. I enjoy each day as it comes. I don’t have to “get through” each day because I LIVE each day. I don’t spend all my time focusing on getting pregnant because there is so much more to my life. Having a baby would be an amazing blessing, not something to fix my life and unhappiness. I’m not searching for something to fill the void because there is no void anymore. I’m content, optimistic and happy. I’m happy.

 

Image

3 Responses to “Happiness”

  1. Sheree Niehus October 30, 2013 at 3:32 am #

    That’s so awesome Bec!!! xoxox

  2. Kristina H. Minyard, PHR November 6, 2013 at 4:43 am #

    🙂 yay!

  3. DaPh00z November 6, 2013 at 2:49 pm #

    That sounds amazing! It’s so great to hear that you shook off the inertia of life and took a chance, a big one, and it’s paying off so wonderfully. You’re an inspiration to all of us. =)

Leave a Reply

