Life Changing

5 Mar

Since my last post about a new start this year, I am proud to say I’ve carried through and made some large changes in my life. It’s completely terrifying but I’m happier than I’ve been in a long time!

The biggest change that I’ve pursued, is I have applied to graduate school. Assuming I’m accepted, I plan to start the counseling psychology masters program in August. After I receive my degree, I plan on becoming a licensed counselor. I had so many doubts before I applied and changed my mind (AKA chickened out) a million times. Once I made the final decision to apply, it just felt right. I don’t know why it took me so long to do this! I’ve always wanted to help people and now I’m finally following my dream. 

I’ve also gone through six weeks of training for a really amazing volunteer opportunity. I won’t go into much detail because for safety reasons I don’t want many people to know where I’m working, but it’s something truly special. I’m doing real work helping people in really difficult situations. It’s been a huge eye opener and I’m met some remarkable people. I’m so incredibly fortunate to be a part of this organization!

I’m continuing with CrossFit and loving it more and more. At this point, I honestly feel like I’m addicted to it. I think it is helping me more mentally than physically, though I love seeing my muscles become more defined and being able to lift more and more weight. Every single time I do a CrossFit workout (also known as a WOD or workout of the day), I hit a mental block where I wonder if I can continue. And then I push through that block and do it. The first few times, I even cried because I was so frustrated. After pushing myself through and finishing the workouts, I have gained so much mental strength. 

In the beginning, if I hit a tough spot in my workout, my self talk was extremely negative. My mind would say things like, “You can’t do this! You need to quit!” Ignoring that talk and pushing through was incredibly difficult but it has helped me more than I ever imagined. Now, when I work out I think things like, “You got this! You can totally do this!” For the first time in my life, I am being kind and encouraging to myself. It’s about dang time.

I’m extremely satisfied with how far I’ve come in only two months. Josh and I are going on a lot of dates and just enjoying each other. It feels great to feel so incredibly close to my amazing husband. If I could do that much in only two months, I can’t wait to see how the rest of this year will go!

2 Responses to “Life Changing”

  1. Carly March 5, 2013 at 5:30 pm #

    I’m so proud of you!! I couldn’t be happier to read a post like this. It sounds like you are on a wonderful, life-changing track! Best of luck with everything. I’ll be on the look out for blog updates along the way. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. To Endings and Beginnings | Shutterbug Wife - July 29, 2013

    […] already told you guys about applying to graduate school and I’m proud to say I’ve been accepted into a Master’s of Counseling Psychology […]

Leave a Reply

