New Year, New Start

10 Jan

So 2012 was a rough one! In talking to friends and family, it seems like a lot of people had a tough year. Thank goodness for new beginnings! Instead of focusing on all the difficulties (you can catch up a bit here if you missed anything), I am just ready to move on. Most of the health issues are behind me, thank goodness, so now I can focus on things besides doctors visits.

I’m not a big resolutions person because I just don’t think they help me. This year, I’m making goals but I am aware of the fact that these can change as I grow and learn. I’m not going to make myself feel bad if I don’t meet a goal. Sometimes, the reason for not reaching a goal is because it wasn’t a good goal to have in the first place.

I’ve already started working through What Color is Your Parachute which is helping me figure out what the heck I want to do with my life. I know that my current full-time job is not working for me. I’m not happy and haven’t been for a while. I’m looking into some volunteer positions as well as job searching for something more related to the psychology field. That’s what I went to school for and that’s my passion. I need to step out of my comfort zone and start pursuing that.

I’m also going to continue with my photography business. I haven’t put much work into it lately and I hate that. Now that my health has improved, I can start devoting more time to my business.

The biggest change I’m making this year is I’m going to stop saying “no” to everything. Whenever an opportunity comes up, my initial reaction is always no. I have no idea why I’m that way. I have a feeling my anxiety has something to do with it. It’s easier for me to go about my normal routine and not do anything different. But, I think this actually makes me more anxious. I’ve noticed that the more I push myself to do things after work or on the weekend, the better I feel.

So, in terms of not saying “no” and being open to new experiences I’ve thought of a ton of things I would like to try this year. If I don’t get to some of them, so what? The idea is to try new things, even if I don’t think I will like them (or am scared to try), but there is no pressure to try and cram in a bunch of stuff that doesn’t mean something to me.

Some ideas I’ve had include:

  • Learn a new instrument. I’ve always wanted to play the drums but haven’t had the chance. Josh also plays the guitar and I would love to learn the basics.
  • Volunteer. I’m already starting training for a volunteer position this month and can’t wait to see how it goes.
  • Fitness. Last year, I really missed having a regular workout routine. I want to get a new routine this year that incorporates yoga and Crossfit. I tried my very first Crossfit workout this week (I was TERRIFIED) and had a great time. I can’t wait to go again! Plus, I was proud of myself for doing something I was scared to do. In pushing myself past my anxiety, I found something new that I enjoy doing.
  • Billiards. Yeah, this is a weird one. I have always hated playing pool. I sucked at it and usually when I went with a group of people I choose to stand back and watch everyone else play. I didn’t want to look stupid because I had no clue how to play. When we visited my parents over the holidays, we went and played pool at this really cool Greek bar/restaurant. My mom and dad helped me a lot and I had a great time. There is a place to play pool near us and I’ve asked Josh if we can start going so I can get better. One more thing that I tried expecting to hate it and ended up really enjoying.
  • Art classes. I am completely open here. I’ve never been very artsy but I’ve never tried that hard. If there is a pottery class in the area, sure! Knitting? Okay! I’m open to trying anything and everything.
  • Writing. I’ve obviously been a huge slacker on this blog and I hate it. Not because I feel guilty but because I love writing. In addition to writing more regularly on the blog, I want to improve my writing skills in general. Maybe I could take a writing course at the community college? Who knows. I just want to write more often!

2013 is going to be about discovering myself. This means fixing my job situation, finding new hobbies, following my passions, being more healthy, and working on my anxiety. As silly as “discovering myself” sounds, I’m really excited to get started!

P.S. We haven’t given up on trying for a baby. I am deciding that my life will not revolve around trying to get pregnant  I can’t keep putting my life on hold because someday I might get pregnant. It’s time to shift my focus.

4 Responses to “New Year, New Start”

  1. Aba January 10, 2013 at 4:58 pm #

    I think discovering yourself is never a bad goal, no matter your age or place in life! I’m glad to see things looking up for you. 🙂

    Also, yoga and Crossfit combined? I’m intrigued!

  2. Michelle January 14, 2013 at 5:33 am #

    Good for you, on all accounts! Let me know if you need any help business wise. You know I’m willing to share anything.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Life Changing | Shutterbug Wife - March 5, 2013

    […] my last post about a new start this year, I am proud to say I’ve carried through and made some large […]

  2. To Endings and Beginnings | Shutterbug Wife - July 29, 2013

    […] only a month and go back to life as usual? Yeah, that’s not me. In fact, I’ve taken my New Year’s resolutions to a whole new level and my entire life is about to […]

Leave a Reply

