Homework Week 3

29 Apr

So I really struggled with this homework assignment. It felt like all my creativity was gone and I didn’t know how to get it back! I had a photo shoot scheduled with an adorable little girl but that ended up not happening and that threw me even more. I had no plan and was totally lost. I came so close to just skipping the assignment this week because I was getting so stressed. Finally, on Sunday afternoon I thought to myself, “Why don’t you just walk around your house and take some shots of the dogs. Test out the lighting and see if you can finally find some decent lighting in your house.” I used to think our house was the worst house ever when it came to natural light but I think I just wasn’t giving it a chance.

The pictures I took this week are not my typical style and they are just kind of different from what I would normally take. However, maybe that’s a good thing. I started thinking out of box and just relaxed and had fun. Also, my dogs think I’m completely insane now.

For the first part of the assignment we were told to take images of contrasting elements. If you think about it, there are endless possibilities of contrasting things to take pictures of. My brain, however, decided to just stop working. I take pictures of contrasting things all the time but when I was asked to actually be aware of it and plan those things, I drew a blank. I seriously spent an entire week trying to figure out one contrasting thing I could take a picture of. Finally, one day while I was watching my adorable dogs, I realize that hey! They are really different. Piper is bigger, stocky and has this gorgeous black fur. Lexy is shorter but with long thin legs and is a light tan color. So I gave it a shot! (As always, click on the images to enlarge.)

The next part of the assignment was to take an image and capture the much desired “decisive moment.” The decisive moment is basically when everything comes together for a very SHORT instant and you want to capture that. While I was having fun with the dogs, I climbed up on some furniture, got my camera ready and yelled, “OH MY GOSH GUYS! LOOK OUT THE WINDOW RIGHT NOW!” They both sprinted into the room and jumped up on the window sill. I knew they wouldn’t stay there long so I was ready and got one shot. I think it came out pretty good!  (And no, I never do that to my dogs just to laugh when they run into the room to look out the window. Why would I do that? That would just be mean!)

So, all in all, after a week where I felt like my creativity was lacking and I was ready to give up, I am proud of how everything turned out. I guess it goes to show that when you RELAX and just enjoy yourself, creativity will find you again.

2 Responses to “Homework Week 3”

  1. Lisa Edney April 30, 2012 at 6:37 pm #

    Fantastic job Rebecca! I ADORE the shot of the dogs looking out the window! And really? Who HASN’T pulled one of those on their ‘children’ once in a while to get that desired chuckle! Fantastic and so inspirational! 🙂

  2. Ciera Knabe April 30, 2012 at 7:11 pm #

    Oh you DO have fantastic lighting! Love it! 🙂 And… Your dogs are adorable!

Leave a Reply

