Perspective

23 Apr

This week in Brooke Snow’s class we learned about perspective and the concept of less is more. Guys, perspective is so crazy important. It is amazing how much changing your perspective while you are behind the camera, can make a HUGE difference.

There were two parts to our homework assignment. Part one was to take a picture like someone would normally take it. Then, you are supposed to change your perspective and see how it affects the quality of your image. At first, I had decided to use Lexy as my subject but she decided playing in the sun was much more interesting than posing. I got a few cute shots and then I let her do her thing. Piper was very cooperative and plopped right down in the shade to be my perfect little model.

The first image is my “typical” shot. It’s not horrible but definitely not my favorite. The next two shots are from another perspective and they are so much better! See how important perspective is?

(ALL IMAGES CAN BE ENLARGED BY CLICKING ON THEM.)

For the second part of the assignment, I decided to take some pictures of Josh’s new guitar, or should I say, the love of his life right now. It’s ok. I’m not jealous. Anyway, the first shot is fine but it didn’t really show the sleekness of the guitar. I wanted to show the amazing color and how, well, awesome it is! So I removed the extra parts that were not needed.

I couldn’t resist sharing some other images that I really liked, but since I was limited to the number of images I could use for this assignment, couldn’t be a part of the homework. Of course, Lexy got one picture included. She’s too cute to leave out!

5 Responses to “Perspective”

  1. Michele Sons April 23, 2012 at 4:07 pm #

    Hi Rebecca, fellow classmate here 🙂 I especially love the shot of Lexy. Great perspective and the bokeh is wonderful!

  2. Lisa Edney April 23, 2012 at 5:46 pm #

    Oh, Rebecca! Your photos are just stunning! You’ve got a great eye and your detail shots are simply fabulous. What a great take on this project/ lesson. You are such an inspiration!!! 🙂

  3. Ciera Knabe April 23, 2012 at 11:03 pm #

    Ohh!! Love the perspective through the trees!! So intriguing!! Great job!!

  4. @EndoJourney April 23, 2012 at 11:27 pm #

    I love this!! Thanks for an inspirational post! I kind of want to get my camera out and try out different perspectives!

  5. Daniela July 17, 2012 at 7:58 pm #

    I’m in love with all photos.

Leave a Reply

