Lifestyle Photography Homework

15 Apr

Last year I took a online photography course offered by the amazingly talented Brooke Snow. I learned a ton and decided to take another one of her classes this year. Part of the class is weekly homework and I will be posting those assignments here. The class I’m taking is about lifestyle photography and I can’t wait to see how my photography improves and changes throughout this class!

Our first assignment is to pick a charcter we would like to document, take some detail shots and some shots of the character doing something. I chose my awesome husband as my character. One of the things I had to get used to when I married Josh, was the fact that he always has to have some project, hobby or class to work on. When we first started dating, he filled all his free time working on homework for his Master’s degree. After that was done, he decided to learn a completely new skill and build a database for the company we work for. Now, he is learning yet another new skill and is working on becoming a certified hacker.

This personality trait of his has slowly become one of the things I love the most about him. As I was taking these pictures, I kept finding myself smiling. There are so many thing in his office that are just…Josh. And those things make me happy.

The first three images are detail shots of things around his office. I love his cluttered books and his neatly written notes. The last picture is Josh working hard with only the light from his computer. (Click to enlarge pictures.)

3 Responses to “Lifestyle Photography Homework”

  1. Lisa Edney April 16, 2012 at 8:32 pm #

    WOW!!! I LOVE your shot of your husband! Simply stunning! LOVE the detail shots you captured as well, and love that they are in B&W. Great job!

  2. Ciera Knabe April 17, 2012 at 8:13 pm #

    Cool shot of the baseball! Also love the lighting in the one of your husband!

  3. holly Powell April 17, 2012 at 8:47 pm #

    Lucky you has a cooperative husband. NIce job documenting him working – love the processing especially on the one of him!

Leave a Reply

