Third Time’s the Charm!

9 Mar

IUI number 2 didn’t work. I actually handled that a lot better than I handled the first one. So we are moving on to IUI number 3 and we decided this will be the one that will work. The number 3 is our lucky number (yeah, that’s a long, lame story) so this just has to be the one!

I went to my baseline appointment at the fertility clinic yesterday. The appointment went as usual except for when I was walking out. I walked past a girl that was getting her blood drawn. This isn’t anything new because let’s face it, when you are dealing with infertility, you should expect to constantly be poked and prodded. I used to get so scared to have my blood drawn and now I don’t give it a second thought. 

So anyway, as I walked past the girl, I overheard her conversation with my nurse. (Yes, she’s MY nurse.) My nurse said “This is a GOOD thing!” and the girl responded with tears in her eyes, “But I’m so scared.” 

I can only assume that she was pregnant and getting her blood drawn to test her hormone levels. I walked out to my car and the moment I got in, I burst into tears. It just felt so unfair. That poor girl should get to be excited about being pregnant but she doesn’t get to do that. After dealing with infertility, you feel so broken. Nothing goes your way and your body constantly lets you down, so why would pregnancy be any different? 

I hope that her pregnancy is uneventful and that she finally gets the baby she has been working so hard for. I hope that her infertility wounds heal even though the scars will always be there. And I hope I get to that point someday soon. Here’s to IUI number 3!

4 Responses to “Third Time’s the Charm!”

  1. Layla March 9, 2012 at 4:43 pm #

    Here’s to number #3!!! Fingers crossed for you!

  2. operationjaguar March 9, 2012 at 10:54 pm #

    Praying for number 3 for you. I will aways be terrified of something going wrong – getting pregnant, staying pregnant, getting through the pregnancy. It’s sad that IF takes some of the joy out of the whole experience.

  3. The Last Girl Standing March 10, 2012 at 6:24 am #

    You’re attitude is amazing! I know this isn’t easy and I’m sure you have your dark moments but you have such a good head on tiur shoulders and you have such a good perspective on not only your situation but of those around you… I’m rarely an optimist but I have absolutely no doubt that you will have a little one. No doubt!! After all, third time IS the charm! Xoox

  4. @EndoJourney March 14, 2012 at 8:00 pm #

    Here’s th IUI #3 and the most boring pregnancy you can imagine! *huge hugs*

Leave a Reply

