Little Red Bike

19 Jun

My grandfather is one of the smartest men I know. He was an engineer for most of his life and like most engineers, he is very rational. He doesn’t show emotions very often but when he does, you can be sure he really means it. A few weekends ago he did something for me that meant more to me than he will probably ever know.

When I was a little girl, I had a little red bike that I absolutely adored. I would ride it around proudly because I was pretty sure it made me a big girl, even though it actually had two more wheels than any adult bike. The bike even had a tiny license plate on the back that had my name on it. It has been many years since I had thought about my little red bike but it recently came back into my life.

A few weekends ago I decided to spend the day at my grandparents house. When I arrived, my grandmother was out so it was just me and my Papa. We talked for a little bit and then he told me he had something to give to me. He disappeared into his room and came out holding my tiny, perfect, red bike. He explained to me how he had cleaned, fixed and re-painted my little bike and wanted me to take it home. He then explained that he hoped it would bring us luck.

I bit my tongue to prevent myself from crying. Here was my wonderful, smiling Papa holding out this tiny bike with hope that it would bring luck into our lives. I was completely in shock. It may not seem like a big deal to anyone else, but this is an enormous gesture for me. I’ve been having a really rough time lately with my recent diagnosis and some days are a struggle. But now, I can picture my future kids scooting around on my little red bike with big smiles on their faces. I can picture it because I know it will happen. Thanks to my Papa, I have hope again.

5 Responses to “Little Red Bike”

  1. Last Girl Standing June 20, 2011 at 1:17 am #

    Tears. Streaming down my face. Your babies are already so loved, they have no choice but to be here some day, if for no other reason than for that sweet ride. Because how sweet it is! What a wonderful thing your grandpa has done.

    Thinking of you today. Hoping next Father’s Day will be a very special one. xoox

  2. Jess June 22, 2011 at 9:49 am #

    What a beautiful gift in more ways than one!

  3. Rasha June 23, 2011 at 1:31 am #

    Love this. So awesome. Totally know how you feel

  4. Rachelle July 11, 2011 at 7:26 am #

    I got a lil teary eyed reading this. That is such a sweet thing your grandfather did for you.

  5. Jen August 8, 2011 at 10:08 pm #

    I’m new to your blog! This post made me tear up! Love the little red bike!

Leave a Reply

