A Little Help From My Friends

5 Jun

A couple of weeks ago, my husband came inside from mowing the lawn with a brown box in his hands. He asked me what I had ordered from Canada and I laughed it off. He orders so much stuff from online that I always assume packages by the door are his. Even though they always are, he loves to joke about how much shopping I have been doing so I figured this was just one of those times.

He insisted that the package was for me so I leaped off the couch. I checked the name and realized who it was from. I gasped when I realized it was from a really good blog friend, Kristel. I ripped it open and instantly started crying. She had sent me a whole box full of junk food that was from Canada. Everything from chocolate bars, to cheese puffs to ketchup flavored chips.

The first thing I tried was the ketchup chips because, OMG y’all, I love ketchup. The chips were amazing and I finished the entire (rather large) bag in two days. Best chips ever.

In addition to all the food was the sweetest card. After reading it I realized how incredibly fortunate I am. Even though I don’t have any local friends that understand what I am going through, I have the most amazing online support group. I have a blog friend that has never met me, take the time to go to the store, buy a bunch of food, write a sweet card and ship it all the way to Alabama. How amazing is that?  I am still completely blown away.

In addition to the wonderful Kristel, I have the most understanding friends on twitter. When I’m having a down day, I instantly have a bunch of women who understand what I am going through, tweeting me encouragement and hugs. I have a twitter/blog friend, Carly, that is going through something similar and we get each other through the rough days.

Even though infertility is a horrible thing to go through, I don’t regret anything I am experiencing. Sure, I want a baby. I want a baby so bad that it physically hurts sometimes. But I know I will get my baby someday and in the meantime, I have friends that I truly care about. I am building friendship with women that will continue on after we all get the families we are dreaming about. So to all these women, I love you and thank you for everything.

This post is dedicated to my amazing friends, including Kristel, Carly, Jay, Jennifer, Michelle, Fee (@TTCfor@long), Erin, Rasha, Sarah, Elizabeth, @babyhope79, @WannaBeMom, Kat (@ivfjourney), Katie (@fromiftowhen), AL (@ababyforal), Aly, Meg (@curliemegs). I’m sure I’m forgetting some, so if I left you off this list, I am so sorry!   

7 Responses to “A Little Help From My Friends”

  1. Erin June 5, 2011 at 10:04 pm #

    Awwww, isn’t the internet amazing? Sending you hugs and hope!

  2. Aly June 6, 2011 at 7:16 am #

    Epic hugs. Love you, B. xx

  3. Stereo June 6, 2011 at 9:15 am #

    Isn’t just a wonderful feeling to know that you have people rooting for you and thinking of you and loving you from miles and miles away? You’re totally deserving, darling.

  4. Rasha June 7, 2011 at 3:34 am #

    This is awesome and how cute are you for including me! So glad we become bloggy friends, we should SO talk more!

  5. Last Girl Standing June 8, 2011 at 12:37 am #

    Aw, you are so cute! I would do it a million times over, if it would help (and our postal system wasn’t currently on strike, lol). And I look forward to sending something else someday. Something a tad smaller, cuter… and perhaps in pink and/or blue 😉

  6. Carly June 8, 2011 at 7:50 pm #

    Awww, that is so sweet of Kristel to do that! And thank you for the shout out, friend. 🙂

    I am so grateful to have you in my life. We are on this crazy journey together, and we will get that happy ending. I know that for sure. Love you! xo

  7. Aba June 15, 2011 at 3:17 pm #

    That is the sweetest thing for someone to do! And you definitely deserve that kind of support! Not just because of what you’re going through, but because you’re such a lovely person. 🙂

Leave a Reply

