Catching Up!

2 May

Wow. So it’s been almost a month since I last blogged and a few things have happened since then. First, I went to London! I didn’t want to talk about my trip too much because I’m not a fan of advertising when I am going out-of-town. I try to be anonymous but you never know who is reading. I will have a few posts about London coming up soon, I promise. I will go ahead and say that it was an amazing trip and I fell head over heels in love with London. I cried on the way to the airport on departure day. Now that I am back home, I feel like I left a part of myself there. I miss it every second of every day.

After we got back, I had a day and a half to spend with my mom before she flew home. (My mom flew in to house sit and take care of my dogs. She also cleaned my entire house and I adore her.) On Easter Sunday, I woke up with a sore throat and that turned into the worst flu I have ever had. After my trip to London, I was already behind at work so I tried going in that Monday. I worked for two hours before I realized that I was just too sick and went home. On Wednesday of last week, I finally went to the doctor and he prescribed a bunch of strong antibiotics in order to get me well before my surgery this Wednesday (May 4).

The evening after my doctor’s appointment, my state and town was hit with one of the worst storms in U.S. history. (Yeah, that huge storm you have been reading about? The one that killed over 300 people and produced over 300 tornadoes? That storm hit us hard. I live in Northern Alabama and we were one of the hardest hit areas.) Luckily, our house was spared but towns 20 miles to the north and 20 miles to the south are completely gone. It was devastating. My entire town (over 400,000 people) lost power. Our house had no power from Wednesday around 7:00 to very early Monday at 2:00 AM. So while I was trying to recover from an awful flu, we had no power. It was not a fun five days.

Then, this morning I called my surgeon because I still have quite a bit of congestion and a cough. My surgeon immediately decided I cannot have my surgery this Wednesday and rescheduled it for next week. I was extremely disappointed because I really want to get this surgery over with. Also, my mom is going to be visiting this week and wanted to be here to take care of me. Now that it’s moved back, she won’t be able to be here. I know Josh will take care of me, but it’s always nice to have your mother around when you are recovering.

As you can see, I have had a lot going on which is why it’s been tough to blog. Over the next week I need to concentrate on making sure I am well for my rescheduled surgery. I am also crazy behind on work since I haven’t worked a full day in THREE weeks. I can’t wait to tell you guys about our amazing London trip so I promise to be back soon. Thanks for being so patient with me!

3 Responses to “Catching Up!”

  1. Last Girl Standing May 3, 2011 at 1:23 am #

    Wow, what a month! Glad the trip went well, I completely relate to the feeling you describe about leaving a piece of yourself behind. It’s amazing how a place can steal our hearts and how we can be so far away from something but feel so close to it.

    SO scary about the storm, I’m so glad you’re okay! It’s unfortunate your surgery was postponed but at least it’s only a week and it really is for the best, your body will be better prepared to bounce back.

    You’re mom is amazing. Of course I knew that before, given the daughter she raised, but she is clearly wonderful. I know you’d prefer her to be around for your surgery but I bet she’ll be the best pre-op nurse there ever was. Take care, rest up and don’t worry about work too much… YOU are what’s important! Everything else can wait! xoox

  2. Stereo May 3, 2011 at 8:38 am #

    Oh babe! I’m so glad that you had a great time in London. How did the flight go? I was wondering whether or not you had been and gone yet! I can’t wait to hear about your adventures here but it sounds like you had a wonderful time.

    I am so glad that you and Josh and your families are alright and that you were relatively unaffected by the storms. It has been frightening to watch even though I am so far removed from everything going on.

    I’m sorry you’re not having your surgery as soon as you would ideally want to have it. I’ll still have all my fingers and toes crossed for you!

  3. Jess May 3, 2011 at 8:38 am #

    Far out! It definitely sounds like you’ve been living life (both the awesome and the not so awesome!). Can’t wait to see photos from London 🙂

Leave a Reply

