Thelma and Louise

7 Apr

Last week on Thursday I did my first round of blood work. On Friday morning my doctor’s office called to let me know that my results looked great! Needless to say, I was extremely happy with those results and started looking forward to my ultrasound on Tuesday. I had been having some pelvic pain but I fully expected the ultrasound to show that nothing was wrong.

On Tuesday, I drank my 32 ounces of water and headed out to my appointment. By the time I pulled up to my doctor’s office, I was in tears. The right side of my pelvis was hurting so bad and I knew it would be physically impossible to hold my pee until my appointment started. I walked across the parking lot holding my crotch in order to prevent myself from peeing all over my legs. I can only imagine what people were thinking when they saw that.

When I got into the building, I managed to go to the bathroom and let some out without losing every bit of water I had drank. I chugged some more water at the water fountain and signed in for my appointment. The nurse came to get me pretty quickly and my exam started. During the exam, the tech was joking with me and was just wonderful. I was relaxed and not worried at all. Then, I saw her type something on the screen and I had to blink a few times to make sure I saw it right. She had typed “cyst” and my stomach dropped. After hounding her with questions, she admitted that there was definitely something on my ovary but the doctor would go into detail.

After getting dressed, I had to go sit back in the waiting room. I had a really hard time holding back the tears. I was completely terrified, alone and surrounded by smiling pregnant couples. When I was finally called back to meet with my doctor, she told me I had two simple cysts on my right ovary. One was 5cm and the other was 7cm. Since they were causing pain, somewhat large, and the didn’t seem to be going away, the doctor recommended surgery to remove them.

I honestly can’t even tell you everything that was discussed after that point. I was trying to focus but I just kept hearing the word “surgery” ringing in my head. The surgery was scheduled for May 4 and I left. I managed to make it to the car and dial Josh before I burst into tears.

Since then, I have managed to calm down a little and I’m really looking forward to getting the surgery over with. My doctor told me that I no longer needed to have the HSG done since she could just take care of that while I was under for my surgery. She also told me that she would look around and make sure everything looked good before the surgery was over. In the meantime, I am trying to come to terms with the fact that I have two cysts chilling on my poor little ovary. The reason I am having pain is because they are twisting my ovary. In order to make them seem a little less scary I have named them Thelma and Louise. I chose that name for a couple of reasons. One, I can refer to them as bitches and, well, that makes sense. Also, as Erin says, I will want to drive them off a cliff. Perfect.

The other thing I am concerned with is the trip to London. I don’t want to be in pain during my trip so that is bothering me. Also, I just can’t stop worrying about the little bastards rupturing. I just keep picturing them rupturing in the middle of my plane ride while I am over the Atlantic Ocean. I have had two doctors reassure me that the chances of them rupturing on my trip or during the flight is very small. If only my dumb brain would shut up and listen to them!

On the positive side, I know they are not cancerous and I should only have to wait a few days after the surgery to start trying for a baby again. Everyone I have talked to is convinced that I will get pregnant right after the surgery and you know what? I have a good feeling too.

7 Responses to “Thelma and Louise”

  1. Megan April 7, 2011 at 8:25 pm #

    I am so sorry you are going through this. 😦 I do agree, Thelma and Louise is a great name for them!

  2. Elizabeth Ditty April 7, 2011 at 9:48 pm #

    Remember, fear is just imagining yourself in a set of circumstances that doesn’t exist. It takes you out of the present moment, which is rarely a good thing. When you feel that anxiety creeping in, try thinking of it as a horror movie that you’ve grown bored with. Switch it off and find something better for your mind to play with.

  3. Erin April 8, 2011 at 2:21 am #

    Stupid, rotten Thelma & Louise.

    When I had my ultrasounds and HSG, I thought everything looked good, but then my doctor mentioned a tiny bit of scar tissue that the HSG identified. He recommended surgery to investigate, and I really didn’t want to, but I’m glad I did. He found stage 4 endometriosis. I probably never would have gotten pregnant on my own with all the gunk in my uterus.

    I’m sorry you have to have surgery, but I really hope it will lead quickly to good things for you!

  4. Last Girl Standing April 8, 2011 at 3:47 pm #

    Oh, hon, I’m sorry. But you know what? Cysts are SOOOOO common. For reals. I get them (mine burst… how fun is that?!?) and I have 2 friends that have had them surgically removed, without incident and both without much pain/recovery time. And the wife of a coworker just had one removed and guess what? After trying to get pregnant for 5 years? Pregnant the very next month! I have no doubts that this will be the last bad thing you have to deal with for a very long time and everything hereon in will be wonderful. Trip included! *hugs*!

  5. jennifer April 9, 2011 at 5:56 am #

    I have a feeling you will be getting pregnant very soon. No worries hun, it will all be worth it when you see those double blue lines! 🙂

  6. Jess April 9, 2011 at 7:42 am #

    Big Hugs!

    But at least now you have your answer and you can soon move forward into the next stage of your life 🙂

  7. Mari April 13, 2011 at 8:19 am #

    Thelma and Louise? Great choice of names. Have a ball on your London trip!

Leave a Reply

