From My Nanny

30 Mar

A few weekends ago, Josh and I were cleaning out our closet and I found a greeting card on one of my shelves. I thought it was odd because I don’t normally put greeting cards in my closet so I opened it to see who it was from. It was from my grandmother (who passed away last July) and it was the card she sent me for my bridal shower. Inside it was $50 in cash that I had left in the card. I was shocked and even cried a little. It was really strange to see something that was from her that I hadn’t touched since before she died.

I put the cash in my wallet and over the next couple of weeks, I had a lot of opportunities to use it. Every time I started to grab the cash, something stopped me and I just couldn’t do it. I just could not bring myself to spend her money. I wanted to keep it with me at all times, even though that seemed so silly. She obviously gave it to me with the knowledge that I would spend it but I couldn’t physically take it out and hand it to someone else. Plus, all the purchases I made seemed so trivial and just not special enough.

Today, my coworker (the one that lost her baby when she was 6 months pregnant) reminded me that she was walking in a March of Dimes walk this weekend. I had told her months ago that I would donate to her in memory of her little boy that passed away last year. When she reminded me, I told her I would get her a check and I walked into my office to get it.

All of a sudden I remembered the cash from my Nanny. The weird thing was that I had been planning on donating exactly $50 to my coworker way before I knew anything about the money Nanny gave me. I actually got goosebumps at that moment. There was no way this was a coincidence. I knew right then, that the cash was meant to go to my friend. Even though I was still sad to let it go, I handed it to my coworker and explained the story. I told her the money was not from me, but from my Nanny.

All along, I thought the reason I couldn’t let the money go was because I was sad to give away something Nanny had given me. Now, I am positive that it was actually because the money was supposed to go to my friend in memory of her little boy. I’m sure Nanny is pleased and approves.

5 Responses to “From My Nanny”

  1. Anni March 30, 2011 at 2:15 pm #

    What a wonderful way to use the money. I’m sure your grandmother would have loved that it went towards something so beautiful.

  2. Last Girl Standing March 31, 2011 at 3:07 am #

    I’m sure she’s pleased and approves too! xoox

  3. Mari March 31, 2011 at 4:43 am #

    That’s so lovely that you found something so special to use the money for 🙂

  4. Roxanne March 31, 2011 at 2:13 pm #

    I am sure your Nanny would approve as well. A wonderful use of your money and a wonderful story.

  5. Stereo April 1, 2011 at 8:01 am #

    What a sweet thing to do and what a worth cause.

Leave a Reply

