And So It Begins…

24 Mar

Today I reached a milestone that I really thought (and hoped) I would never reach. Josh and I have been trying for a baby for about a year and today I had an appointment with my OB. I probably would have put off the appointment even longer except for the fact that I have had some pelvic pain in the past few weeks that I was getting worried about. As I was driving to my appointment today I had so many mixed emotions. I was nervous because I pretty much always get nervous before seeing a doctor and I was curious about what the doctor would say. I was also extremely disappointed and sad.

When we first started trying to get pregnant, I had the typical, “What if we can’t get pregnant” doubts but I never truly believed we would struggle. I thought that it may take us a few months but it would definitely happen. Today I felt like I had let myself and Josh down. We hadn’t been able to get pregnant after an entire YEAR of trying.

At my appointment, I explained all my issues with irregular cycles and the recent addition of pelvic pain. My OB decided it was time to start testing. Hearing that statement brought another flood of emotions (I am starting to think I might be a tad emotional.). I was a tiny bit excited to think that we might be able to figure out what was preventing me from getting pregnant. I was also a mix of other emotions that I can’t even begin to describe. Hearing that you are ready for testing is kind of like someone officially announcing that you are struggling and have fertility issues. I might have been a bit in denial over having trouble and this appointment kicked my butt back to reality.

The plan is for me to come back in a week and a half for an ultrasound to see if we can figure out the pelvic pain. I am also going to have blood work done on cycle day 3 and cycle day 21. On cycle day 7 (I think. I was started to get lost at this point. Luckily, the doctor told me to just call when I got my period and they would schedule it) we are going to do an HSG. I am not all that familiar with the HSG process but I do know that I will have a dye put in my uterus and will then be x-rayed to see if there are any blockages. This is the test that I am most afraid of because I just don’t know what to expect and some people claim it is painful. Josh will definitely be going to that one with me!

In addition to my appointment today, I also had some work stuff happen that was frustrating and disappointing. This day completely wore me out and therefore, I am stopping by Gigi’s Cupcakes before I go home tonight. All I want is to be laying on the couch, watching Gilmore Girls (while Josh makes fun of how fast they talk), with my dogs in my lap and a cupcake in my MOUTH.

12 Responses to “And So It Begins…”

  1. Anni March 24, 2011 at 9:25 pm #

    I can’t imagine how frustrating and emotional that must be. I hope the procedure goes well for you and that they’re able to figure things out soon.

  2. Roxanne March 24, 2011 at 9:55 pm #

    Cupcakes and Gilmore Girls can fix most everything. I hope the procedures are as painless as possible and that good news lies ahead in your future. Will be thinking of you!

  3. Carly March 24, 2011 at 10:17 pm #

    I’m sorry, hon. I know how emotionally taxing it can be. This is a great first step in your journey, and I’m really proud of you for being so brave!

    You are on the road to getting some answers. I’m here if you ever need to talk/vent/whatever.

    Thinking good thoughts for you! ❤

  4. jennifer March 24, 2011 at 10:43 pm #

    That sucks that you have to get testing done. But at least you can see what’s going on. I know when I had to start all my testing for my pernicious anemia I was so scared that it was something so much worse, even though it does suck, it was such a relief to found out what it was and how to maintain it! I hope everything goes ok for you and Josh and you get to have a little one. Besides, I want to take maternity pics of you! 🙂 Keep your head up, your in my thoughts ❤

  5. Elizabeth Ditty March 25, 2011 at 12:11 am #

    I’m sorry you’re going through such a painful struggle. Hopefully you’ll get some answers from these tests and can create a plan of action. Keep your chin up, enjoy that cupcake, and never let anyone make fun of you for watching Gilmore Girls because Gilmore Girls is awesome.

  6. Mari March 25, 2011 at 1:04 am #

    Sending lots of good thoughts your way. And now I want a cupcake! I hope yours was good.

  7. Stereo March 25, 2011 at 9:38 am #

    *Massive hugs* Love and positive thoughts your way, Becs. Things will work out. You and Josh are in my prayers.

  8. The Tao of Pig Pen March 25, 2011 at 10:00 am #

    My wife did the dye treatment she said it was unconfortable but not as bad as she thought it could be. We dealt with these issues for a long time. You and your husband stay strong and nothing but good wishes.

  9. Michelle Koechle March 25, 2011 at 6:15 pm #

    I’m so sorry you’re going through this, sweetie. The uncertainty of it all must be unsettling. Have you ever heard about the Sympto-Thermal method? There is a couple that I know from church who had a really hard time conceiving because her cycle was really irregular as well. She started using the ST method and they were pregnant within a year. I’ve heard good things about it.

  10. Jess March 26, 2011 at 9:21 am #

    At least now you will be able to figure it all out and I hope that as soon as everything is sorted that it all happens for you. Sending lots of happy vibes to you during this time.

    On a lighter note, one more thing we have in common – my Hubby teases me about GG as well. He even did some little dialogue in the car today :p

  11. Last Girl Standing March 27, 2011 at 5:46 am #

    You deserve more than just a cupcake! I know this is scary but I also know you’re strong and that you’re meant to be a mom. I like to think that the fact you’re being well taken of means you’ll have answers. And solutions. xoox!

  12. Rachelle March 29, 2011 at 10:58 am #

    A cupcake and girlmore girls can solve anything. I love love LOVE that show.

    Goodluck with the testing and keep us updated!

Leave a Reply

