Adventures in Flying, Part 1

11 Feb

The plan was for me to come home from Chicago on Monday evening. My plane was supposed to leave at 6:05 which would put me home at around 7:30. Monday morning, I woke up and spent the morning hanging out with my mom. We had breakfast in bed and watched a movie and I was thrilled when I realized that I had no nausea or anxiety about the flight that evening.

At around 3:30 my dad got home from work and told me we needed to head to the airport around 4:00. I was already packed and ready to go so we headed out. On the way, we got stuck in some pretty bad traffic and I started to worry about making my plane. At 5:00, we were still sitting in traffic and I really wanted to be at my gate by that point.

I received a text that said my plane was delayed until 6:50 and I was pretty relieved. We arrived at the airport and my dad stuck around while I checked in. The line for security was pretty short so my dad and I hung around and chatted for about 20 minutes. At that point, I was starting to get anxious about getting to my gate so we said our goodbyes (sadface) and I started through security.

One of the things I had been worried about with traveling was going through the full body scanners. I know a lot of people don’t mind them but I am extremely uncomfortable with the concept that someone would basically be seeing me naked. I also worry about the radiation. I know the government claims the machines don’t emit a lot of radiation but I don’t trust them at all. As a person who is trying to get pregnant, I want to avoid every kind of radiation I possibly can.

So of course, they asked me to go through the scanner. I politely told them I did not want to go through and they were very nice about it. They yelled, “we have an opt out” and “we need a female assist!” I had to wait a few minutes and then a young woman told me to come on back past the scanner. She explained that she had to do a pat down and then went into detail about what she would be doing. The pat down wasn’t as bad as I had thought it would be, but it was still awkward. She touched my breasts and her hand hit my “female area” about four times.

After she finished feeling me up, she told me she needed to test the gloves that she was wearing while she pat me down. She walked over to a counter, took off her gloves, handed them to someone else and then walked away. A couple of minutes later, she walked past me again and didn’t say anything to me. I figured the glove test took time so I just kept standing there. Finally, someone realized how long I had been standing there and asked me why I was still there. I told them that the lady that patted me down said she had to test her gloves and then walked away. They asked me who had patted me down and I replied with, “Um, some lady?” She didn’t happen to mention my name before she felt me up so that was as good as I could do. Someone went off to find the woman while I continued to stand there in my socks. He came back after a while and told me that the woman must not have made it clear that I could leave.

All in all, it had taken me about 15 minutes to go through this whole process and I was a little upset. It was embarrassing and then to leave me standing there was rude. It’s complete crap that “she didn’t make it clear” because she never said anything to me. She walked past me twice and just left me standing there. During this whole time, my dad had been watching outside of the security area and so I called him to fill him in while I was walking to my gate. We laughed about it and then I sat down to wait for my flight.

I called my mom to tell  her the story and while I was on the phone with her, I noticed that none of the screens around my gate were working. Since I didn’t see anything showing I was at the right gate, I hung up with my mom and found one of the big arrival/departure screens. I scrolled down and saw the flight to Nashville and looked over to make sure I was at the right gate. That’s when I saw it. CANCELED. My heart sunk.

To be continued…

5 Responses to “Adventures in Flying, Part 1”

  1. Mari February 13, 2011 at 11:25 am #

    Becs! You’re leaving us hanging! :O 😀

  2. Jess February 14, 2011 at 10:18 am #

    You handled that way better than I ever would have!

  3. Anni February 15, 2011 at 2:30 am #

    Oh, that’s terrible! I can’t believe she’d just walk away and not tell you that it was okay to leave. You know that if you had tried to leave before she said okay it would have been a huge deal, too.

    I’m lucky – I never get stopped at airport security. Like, not once in my years of flying at least 4x a year. Being 5′ tall with a babyface has to count for something, I guess!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Adventures in Flying, Part 2 « Shutterbug Wife - February 14, 2011

    […] If you missed it, here is Part 1. […]

  2. Adventures in Flying, Part 4 « Shutterbug Wife - February 22, 2011

    […] case you missed it, here is Part 1, Part 2, and Part […]

Leave a Reply

