Saying Goodbye to Fear

9 Feb

On Saturday morning, I was hopeful but still expecting to wake up feeling awful. I woke up before my alarm and was instantly wide awake. As I started to get ready, the butterflies were bouncing around my stomach but there was no nausea. I could tell I was nervous but I didn’t feel anxious.

During the two hour drive to the airport I was still nervous but my confidence was growing. It was a great sign that I was still not sick to my stomach. Josh dropped me off at the airport and I focused on checking in and getting through security. Once I got to my gate, I sat down and sighed with relief. The hard part was over and now all I had to do was wait to board. My flight was delayed about an hour and a half and I did get a little nervous while boarding, however, once I was on the plane I felt completely relaxed. I snacked and listened to the awesome book I had downloaded to my IPod.

Traveling back home became incredibly stressful and I will go into that in my next post, but even with the craziness, I never felt sick. There were times where I was nervous and couldn’t eat because of the butterflies, but I never got to that scary, incapacitating nausea that I fear.

I don’t know if it was my new diet, the fact that I have confidence that I can beat my anxiety, or my backup plan of nausea medication but I felt so much better. I successfully flew to Chicago and spent the weekend with my parents. I was able to go shopping with my dad to pick out snacks for the game.  I got to watch the Packer’s win the Super Bowl while sitting next to my father. I was able to give my dad a big hug after they won. I can honestly say that this weekend contains some of the best memories I have with my dad. I know this weekend meant a lot to my dad because he said so, and my father doesn’t express the mushy stuff very often.

Over the last few days, I refused to let my fear rule my life. I beat my anxiety and in return I had an indescribable weekend.

I am so proud of myself. I am so happy.

 

P.S. GO PACKERS!

3 Responses to “Saying Goodbye to Fear”

  1. Elizabeth Ditty February 9, 2011 at 10:43 pm #

    Glad to hear everything went well (despite the fiasco on the way back)!

  2. Mari February 10, 2011 at 2:23 am #

    You go girl! I’m so glad everything went well and you had a great weekend with your father 🙂

  3. Stereo February 10, 2011 at 8:49 am #

    Congratulations! This is a huge accomplishment!

Leave a Reply

