The Father’s Day Post

19 Jun

Daddy,

How can I begin to explain how much you mean to me? Are there really words to express how thankful I am to have you as my father? When you became a father, you were so young and I’m sure you were terrified. While Mom stayed home and grew into an amazing mother, you went to school all day and worked at night. I have heard stories of you trying to study while I screamed (colic sounds AWESOME). Didn’t you miss a final because you slept in as a result of me being a giant ass? (Sorry about that by the way.)

Still, you persevered and graduated. You started working and you started at the bottom. Over the years, you were the perfect example of what hard work can get you in life. I remember you telling me how you should never call in sick to work unless you were really, really sick. You instilled a solid work ethic in me from a very early age.

I selfishly complained every time we moved and I never saw the sacrifice you made. You were also giving up everything to pick up and start over. But you were doing it so that you could provide for your family. You never thought about yourself, you only thought of us.

A year ago you lost your father. At the funeral, I was expecting to see a man in mourning. Yes, I saw some sadness, but I mostly saw something completely different. I saw a man being strong so he could hold his mother up. During a time where most people would be thinking of their own sadness, you were thinking of your mother and your family.

For the past few months, you have been working all day, rushing home to eat, and then going back out to visit your mother in the hospital. You have no free time and you are facing unimaginable stress. Have I heard you complain? Not once. Come to think of it, have I ever heard you complain about anything? No, I haven’t.

Thank you for everything you gave up and everything you did for me and the rest of the family. Thank you for the hard work, sacrifice and unconditional love. I hope this helps you see how much you mean to me.

I love you so much, Dad! Happy Father’s Day!

images via weheartit
2 Responses to “The Father’s Day Post”

  1. Mrs T June 20, 2010 at 4:50 am #

    He sounds wonderful. I hope you showed him this post.

  2. Rasha @ {andthisiswhatshesaid} July 31, 2010 at 6:48 pm #

    So wonderful. xoox

Leave a Reply

